My comment on a book review

I read with interest Mr. McCarthy’s review of The Power of Market Fundamentalism, as I had found the book on Amazon, and it was quite outside my price range. Even facing that impediment, my interest was still active, and I was happy to find a link to Mr. McCarthy’s review on my twitter feed. And this quite thorough indeed compellingly well written review will lead me to an eventual purchase of a used copy of this book.

I purchased instead a copy of Never Let a Serious Crisis Go to Waste by Philip Mirowski at the Verso web site:

http://www.versobooks.com/search?utf8=%E2%9C%93&q=never+let+a+serious+crisis+go+to+waste&commit=%C2%A0

I’m on page 120 and finding it challenging and quite rewarding reading on the rise of Neo-Liberalism and it’s some thirty year dominance of the discourse of Political Economy in American politics. I came to this book after reading the issue of Critical Review volume 25 numbers 3-4 2013 titled Hayek: the Good, The Bad, The Ugly. An informative collection of essay on the ubiquitous epistemology/constructs/ideas/propaganda of Mr. Hayek.

As much as I enjoyed Mr. McCarthy’s review, I was struck by the comment or rather the near hysterical screeching reply of BMerker. It reads like a pastiche of the Cold War rhetoric of the Nixon/Mundt/McCarren/McCarthy political alliance wedded to the Tea Party Economics of Rep. Paul Ryan: the merging of Rand and Hayek scrubbed clean of it’s unapologetic atheism. It was quite a jarring experience to read the carefully considered and well written review against an obvious propaganda assault.
http://bostonreview.net/books-ideas/michael-mccarthy-block-somers-market-fundamentalism-karl-polanyi

StephenKMackSD

About stephenkmacksd

Rootless cosmopolitan,down at heels intellectual;would be writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

