My reply to @L

@L

The particulars on StephenKMackSD: 71 year old queer white male, born and came of age in Southern California, attended Public Schools, Compton College and Long Beach State College in the 70’s. I have, since I dropped out of High School, been an avid reader, with an interest in politics and Intellectual History/Philosophy. I am intellectually ambitious and opinionated! I am on Twitter,Facebook and have a blog. I also sign my name to every one of my comments, and use pseudonyms on my blog posts to give my polemics an ironic edge, at least that is my aspiration.

I see you’ve been busy riding herd on the ‘nonconformists’ here at the FT comments section, congratulations as one commenter to another. You are a stern taskmaster! The Neo-Liberal Dispensation is in an advanced state of decay, except to those obsessed with a nostalgia for a Feudalism re-imagined by the Hayek/Mises/Friedman Coterie, or better yet The Mont Pelerin Society.  Filtered through the political prism of both the Tories and New Labour.

The remainder of your comment taken up with your fictional description of the lesser political beings, who represent the marginal and the undeserving: the losers in the failed Neo-Liberal/Corporatist Project who are that 99% that both Occupy Wall Street and Picketty chronicled.

One of the most unattractive British traits, I’ll just assume your British, as you speak with a kind of authority for places and people, is a  class bias that is all pervasive. Not to speak of shocking to an American, who is used to a self-serving hypocrisy about social/economic class . In 1958 Eugene Burdick and William Lederer book ‘The Ugly American’ was published:

In one vignette, a Burmese journalist says “For some reason, the [American] people I meet in my country are not the same as the ones I knew in the United States. A mysterious change seems to come over Americans when they go to a foreign land. They isolate themselves socially. They live pretentiously. They are loud and ostentatious.”[6]

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Ugly_American

Not a perfect analogy, yet the American colonial mind set shares certain commonalities with class/caste bias. But serviceable given the dismissive, even contemptuous, character of your reply to my comment.

StephenKMackSD

http://on.ft.com/2pJqszX

About stephenkmacksd

Rootless cosmopolitan,down at heels intellectual;would be writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

